Euro 2020 Set To Start Today

EURO 2020 starts today as the competition keeps its name even though it was delayed for a year because of the Covid-19 pandemic. It will now run from today 11 June to 11 July 2021 across 11 countries.

It is a first major men’s tournament for Scotland since 1998, while England could have home advantage in nearly every game and Wales are at their second Euros in a row.

England and Scotland, who are in the same group, are two of the host countries in the first European Championship to be held across the continent.

They will be the first major men’s tournament games held in the UK since EURO 1996.

With Wembley hosting group games, a last-16 tie, both semi-finals and the final, England would only have to play one match abroad if they win their group and go all the way.

Wales are also among the 24 teams, although they do not host any games.

The tournament kicks off with Italy vs Turkey in Rome today, 11 June at 8 pm British Standard Time and concludes with the final at Wembley in London on Sunday, 11 July 2021.

The other host cities are Glasgow, Amsterdam, Baku, Bucharest, Budapest, Copenhagen, Munich, Rome and Seville.

Add Your Comment